District
Kunst- und Kulturförderung

cache_img/w800_h500_db8386ac4e4e257ebd0f30c67d1662e82d.jpeg

Luis Berríos-Negrón, Collapsed Greenhouse (Scenography for Undisciplinary Learning), 2016

UNDISCIPLINARY LEARNING: REMAPPING THE AESTHETICS OF RESISTANCE: SPACE

with Luis Berríos-Negrón, Nathalie Anguezomo Mba Bikoro & Anaïs Héraud-Louisadat (Squat Monument), Ha Za Vu Zu, Naomi Hennig, Stine Marie Jacobsen, Vladan Jeremić & Rena Raedle & Ina Wudtke, Rajkamal Kahlon, Frida Klingberg, Ins A Kromminga & Jannik Franzen, KUNCI Cultural Studies Center, Julia Lazarus, Achim Lengerer, Method Fund, Gabriel Rossell Santillán, RYBN.ORG, Lerato Shadi, Andreas Wutz. Curated by Janine Halka, Suza Husse, Julia Lazarus. Scenography: Luis Berríos-Negrón

22 Sep 2016 - 19 Nov 2016

Open Tuesday to Saturday from 2 to 6 pm.

 

Thursday, 22th September

19 h Opening of the exhibition
20 h Performance between stamp and mars No:7. if the world doesn’t rock us, we rock the world by Ha Za Vu Zu feat. Free Kazova Textile Cooperative Istanbul

 

Undisciplinary Learning. Remapping the Aesthetics of Resistance takes the novel The Aesthetics of Resistance by Peter Weiss (1916–1982) as an impetus to question current knowledge politics at the intersection of artistic, political, and pedagogical practices. From 8 September until 19 November 2016 Undisciplinary Learning takes place in the four program formations SPACE, CITY, KNOWLEDGES and DOCUMENTS. For the whole program click here.


In trying to become “objective,” Western culture made “objects” of things and people when it distanced itself from them, thereby losing “touch” with them. Gloria Anzaldúa 


In the exhibition Undisciplinary Learning: SPACE collective un_learning and anti-authoritarian knowledge transfers thereby form the basis for the repositioning of The Aesthetics of Resistanceand the emancipatory pedagogies the book is based on. Taking up cultural traditions from the self-organization and activism of proletarian associations—like songs, caricatures, newspapers, radio broadcasts and leaflets, subversive reading groups and sports clubs, forms of solidarity greetings, or resistance walks—the artistic contributions bridge historical and contemporary expressions of anti-facism and anti- colonialism. In many of the works solidarity and collaboration, for example between artists and communities of factory workers in Istanbul, of Indonesian migrants in Hong Kong, or of indigenous people in Mexico, become a starting point for new methods of political knowledge and culture production.

A focal point of the exhibition is the deconstruction of language and book as sacred sites of western knowledge through performative forms of cultural memory. Visual pedagogies, the collective (re-) appropriation of erased histories, as well as the interaction with animals, the natural world, and bodies as social archives open up new forms of how we read, conceive of and translate knowledges. 
In collaboration with the artist and architect Luis Berríos-Negrón a spatial ecology emerges that connects his decolonial exploration of greenhouses, constructivist stage design, and open source architecture to host a heterogeneous community. In this flexible scenography binary concepts like subject-object, inside-outside, mind-body, or culture-nature collapse and leave space for alternative forms of knowing and doing.

Undisciplinary Learning: SPACE opens with a performance by Ha Za Vu Zu.

The artist collective Ha Za Vu Zu from Istanbul acts at the intersection between experimental music and visual art, between agitprop and the organization of offbeat evenings. Instigating the spontaneous formation of new modes of collaboration, of collective action and experience, their humorous performances and installations offer opportunities to imagine new social orders and alternative modes of political engagement. The costumes and props for the performance between stamp and mars No:7. stem in parts from their ongoing collaboration with the Free Kazova Textile Cooperative that was founded in the aftermath of the 2013 Gezi Park resistance in Istanbul. In 2014 the workers of the Kazova factory and their allies occupied the factory under the motto “Jumpers without Masters” and since then participate in the international freedom struggle and in solidarist economy organizations. 

With the performance a Free Kazova Pop-Up Store will be inaugurated in the exhibition offering the possibility to support the cooperative and buy their jumpers and t-shirts.

District
Kunst- und Kulturförderung

cache_img/w800_h500_db8386ac4e4e257ebd0f30c67d1662e82d.jpeg

Luis Berríos-Negrón, Collapsed Greenhouse (Scenography for Undisciplinary Learning), 2016

UNDISCIPLINARY LEARNING: REMAPPING THE AESTHETICS OF RESISTANCE: SPACE

mit Luis Berríos-Negrón, Nathalie Anguezomo Mba Bikoro & Anaïs Héraud-Louisadat (Squat Monument), Ha Za Vu Zu, Naomi Hennig, Stine Marie Jacobsen, Vladan Jeremić & Rena Raedle & Ina Wudtke, Rajkamal Kahlon, Frida Klingberg, Ins A Kromminga & Jannik Franzen, KUNCI Cultural Studies Center, Julia Lazarus, Achim Lengerer, Method Fund, Gabriel Rossell Santillán, RYBN.ORG, Lerato Shadi, Andreas Wutz. Kuratiert von Janine Halka, Suza Husse, Julia Lazarus. Szenographie: Luis Berríos-Negrón

22 Sep 2016 - 19 Nov 2016

Geöffnet Dienstag bis Samstag von 14 bis 18 Uhr

 

Donnerstag 22.09.2016

19 Uhr Ausstellungseröffnung
20 Uhr Performance between stamp and mars No:7. if the world doesn’t rock us, we rock the world von Ha Za Vu Zu feat. Free Kazova Textile Cooperative Istanbul

 

Undisciplinary Learning. Remapping the Aesthetics of Resistance nimmt den Roman Die Ästhetik des Widerstands von Peter Weiss (1916–1982) zum Anlass um aktuelle Wissenspolitiken an den Schnittstellen künstlerischer, politischer und pädagogischer Praxen zu befragen. Vom 8. September bis 19. November findet Undisciplinary Learning in den vier Programmbereichen RAUM, STADT, WISSEN und DOKUMENTE statt. Zum gesamten Programm hier

 

In trying to become “objective,” Western culture made “objects” of things and people when it distanced itself from them, thereby losing “touch” with them. Gloria Anzaldúa 

Kollektives Ver_lernen und herrschaftskritischer Wissenstransfers bilden in Undisciplinary Learning: RAUM die Grundlage für Neuverortungen der Ästhetik des Widerstands und der darin verhandelten emanzipatorischen Bildungskonzepte. Kulturelle Traditionen aus der Selbstorganisation und des Aktivismus von proletarischen Verbünden – Lieder, Karikaturen, Zeitungen, Radiosendungen und Flugblätter, subversive Lese- und Sportvereinigungen, solidarische Grußformen oder widerständige Stadtspaziergänge – aufgreifend schlagen die präsentierten künstlerischen Beiträge Brücken zwischen historischen und gegenwärtigen Ausdrucksformen des Antifaschismus und Antikolonialismus. In einigen Werken wird die solidarische Verbindungen, beispielsweise zwischen Künstler*innen und Gemeinschaften von Fabrikarbeiter*innen in Istanbul, indonesischen Migrant*innen in Hong Kong oder mexikanischen Ureinwohner*innen, zum Ausgangspunkt für neue Methoden politischer Wissens- und Kunstproduktion.

Ein Schwerpunkt der Ausstellung ist die Dekonstruktion von Sprache und Buch als heilige Stätten westlichen Wissens durch performative Formen von kulturellem Gedächtnis. Visuelle Pädagogiken, die gemeinschaftliche (Rück-)aneignung ausgelassener Geschichte(n) sowie die Auseinandersetzung mit Tieren, Naturumwelten und Körpern als gesellschaftliche Archive eröffnen Räume für neue Lesarten, Übersetzungsweisen und Vorstellungen von Wissen.

In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Künstler und Architekten Luis Berríos-Negrón entsteht aus der Verbindung seiner dekolonialen Forschung zu Gewächshäusern, konstruktivistischer Bühnenkonzepten und Open-Source-Architekturen eine räumliche Ökologie für eine heterogene Gemeinschaft. In dieser beweglichen Szenographie kollabieren binäre Auffassungen von Subjekt-Objekt, Innen-Außen, Körper-Geist oder Kultur-Natur zugunsten alternativer Wissens- und Handlungsformen. 

Undisciplinary Learning. RAUM eröffnet mit einer Performance von Ha Za Vu Zu.

Ha Za Vu Zu, ein Künstler*innenkollektiv aus Istanbul, agiert an der Kreuzung von experimenteller Musik und Bildender Kunst, von Agit-Prop und Off-Beat Veranstaltungen. Spontane Modi der Zusammenarbeit bilden die Grundlage für kollektive Aktionen und gemeinschaftliche Erfahrungen, die sie in ihren humorvollen Performances und Installationen zu Visionen neuer sozialer Ordnungen und alternativer Modelle politischen Engagements verarbeiten. Die Kostüme und Kulissen für ihre Performance between stamp and mars No:7. beruhen auf ihrer Kooperation mit der Free Kazova Textile Cooperative, die sich  im Nachklang der Gezi-Park-Bewegung 2013 in Istanbul gebildet hat. 2014 besetzten die Arbeiter*Innen und ihre Mitstreiter*innen unter dem Slogan „Jumpers without Masters“ die Textilfabrik Kazova und engagieren sich seither im internationalen Freiheitskampf und für solidarische Formen wirtschaftlicher Organisation.

Mit der Performance wird auch ein Free Kasova Pop-Up Store in der Ausstellung eröffnet, wo während der gesamten Laufzeit Pullover und T-Shirts der Kooperative erhältlich sind.